My column’s out now: We should cut our teenagers some slack

It’s “Thursday Thoughts” where I post my weekly newspaper column to my blog so you can have a read…

This week my column for the Gloucestershire Gazette is all about teenagers and how, with the job market taking a nose dive, we should cut them some slack and give them a chance . To read it, simply click to my Column page.

Let me know what you think. Do you think teenagers deserve our support? Or do you think they’ve got it easy? 

*Look out for tomorrow’s  post, “Friday Fact or Fiction”. This week I’ll be posting part three of my new short story, ‘The Quiet Life of Megan Quinn.’**

9 thoughts on “My column’s out now: We should cut our teenagers some slack”

  1. absolutely agree- after all we are responsible for the people our teenagers become, AND for the economic circumstances in which they find themselves (rising youth unemployment, increased NEET figs) . Actually most of the teens I meet are lovely – you just need to adjust your internal volume levels and not mind the sheer amount of space they seem to take up! 🙂

    Like

    1. Absolutely agree – we are responsible for our teenagers and how they progress as they move towards adulthood. I think people tend to forget that we all used to be teenagers once, listening to loud music, voicing our opinions (loudly!) – it’s all part of growing up. As soon as society gets into the flow of that, things will become fairer. right now, youngsters have it tougher than we did. they don’t help themselves sometimes, that’s for sure, but we shouldn’t just give up on them. Just maybe ask them to turn the music down a little. Actually, leave it up. I’m going deaf anyway…!

      Like

  2. It’s easy to forget how difficult and scary the “real world” seemed when we were teens. We assume that because the present generation has all the gadgets and greater access to information, they have it easier. They don’t. There is more competition and a vast selection of career paths that is overwhelming. It’s our job as the grown-ups to help them find their way. Or, at the least, offer them the tools to succeed. Great article!

    Like

    1. Hi. thanks for that. I think you’re absolutely right about all the gadgets etc. If we think about social media too – well, I think this makes their life harder in some ways. It leaves them open to trolling, mixed image messages, pressure to have the most ‘friends’, not to mention a feel that everything should be instantaneous. When I was a kid (blimey, that sounds old – like saying ‘in my day…’!), we didn’t even have a phone until I was 14′ and certainly no computer. Sure, the usual pressures where there, but I genuinely didn’t doubt for a second that it would all work out job wise. These days, teenagers haven’t got that reassurance, not from the government nor always from their community. Thing is, communities often expect teenagers to respect them, but it has to work both ways. I don’t think my kids should respect me, if I don’t display that same respect to them. I always tell them to lead by example – maybe the adults running this world could do the same, might make a big difference. Great to meet you.

      Like

      1. Great to meet you too. It’s one of the basic rules as an educator – treat them as you should be treated – and, it works every time. Nice article.

        Like

      2. Glad you’ve found it works – very reassuring. Leading by example has to be the only way to go. I try to teach my kids this/lead by example myself, so here’s hoping it works! Enjoying your blog, by the way!

        Like

Hey there! You weren't going to leave without commenting, were you?

