Hoverboarding – the new mid-life crisis solution?

midlife

Welcome to Midlife Crisis, a new magazine-style column of a very real account of being over forty and sliding into a midlife mud pool.

Hoverboards. They’re a thing, right, grooving along the high ways, Marty in Back to the Future style. It’s like all my dreams come true – until I try one. It is a blooming nightmare. No one, see tells you when you get older how downright hard it is to, well,move, basically. Hoverboarding, see is like surfing, and yes, I seem to suck at that. Me and my daughter went for a surfing lesson in the Gower last year and we both got on the board and guess who fell off

Hoverboarding - it's a thing
Hoverboarding – it’s a thing. Anyone? Nope.

first and, basically, every time she got on the board (when I did, you know, finally stand up on it, that is…)? And don’t get me started on the wetsuit. Let’s just say when you’ve had two kids, wetsuits aren’t high on your list of ideal fashion items.

Getting older see, is, like bright pink lipstick, a shocker. We creak, we ache, we try to do things that someone twenty years younger can and, yes, while sometimes we do make it, it takes us longer to get there and way longer to recover.

But should that stop us? Should we wave the white flag to our ageing years and give up? Not likely. In a recent poll of 2,000 middle agers, it was revealed a third felt the stereotypical image of a midlife crisis was completely outdated. Indeed, a quarter felt the term was just a cliché, mind you, more than half (56 per cent) of men confessed they are likely to undergo a ‘lifestyle overhaul’ when hitting their mid-forties.

As for me and the mid-life thing, nah – I’m not going down without a fight. I’m only in my early forties – I’ve got some considerable living it up time left and I intend to use it.  I swim, ski, run, complete in triathlons, all be it, well, (a lot) slower. So yeah, middle-age, maybe I’ll give this hoverboard thing I shot – I loved Marty McFly. And, hey, maybe I’ll get to love A&E just as much…

What do you think? Post your thoughts below…

4 thoughts on “Hoverboarding – the new mid-life crisis solution?”

      1. I’m guessing you must be around same age as me then, Nikki, cos Marty was my first teenage love! Funny, I was into Jon Bon Jovi and Michael J Fox (as Marty McFly) and my husband’s name is Jon Marty!! (psychologists could have a field day with that!) Dunno if you’ve read MJFox’s autobio, Lucky Man, but it’s a great read and takes you right back to the 80’s! Kate (thanks for the follow)

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Yup – we are in our 40s and proud/finding ourselves forgetting exactly how old we are… I’ve not read MJ’s bio – will download to my Kindle asap! Ah, I used to love the windbreaker he wore. Dear Lord… x

    Liked by 1 person

Hey there! You weren't going to leave without commenting, were you?

